PDA

View Full Version : How far do you bounce a bounce box?

Jatt
11-04-2014, 02:49
Pretty much what the topic says. What is the average distance you guys normally bounce your box? I've never used one before, so I'm just trying to get an idea about it.

garlic08
11-04-2014, 08:05
It depends on what you put in it. Medications? That might be fairly often. Spare socks or maps? Not so often. Some people put electronics and chargers in it, and they want it nearly every town.

I don't use one anymore, but I did on my first long hike and as I remember the interval was around 600 to 800 miles, mainly for socks and maps.

Coffee
11-04-2014, 08:20
I used a bounce box for the first time this year on the Colorado Trail and bounced it ahead three times, so about every 150 miles or so which worked out to about 7-8 days. I liked having the bounce box for various items ... A razor/shaving kit, charger for my camera batteries, additional maps, vitamins, and sometimes extra food. However, on the PCT I'm thinking that I'll bounce ahead 200-300 miles which should be good enough. I can't see bouncing a box much further ahead, at least not to a PO because some will not hold boxes for long enough.

VTATHiker
11-04-2014, 09:07
On the AT I bounced a box 5 times, so about 400 miles between pickups. It got "lost" on the second bounce. By lost I just mean it never showed up at the intended destination, but two weeks later it showed up at the return address I had put on there (my folk's place). I had part of the AT Guide in there that I really needed, so I ended up on a long stretch without my guide. Moral of the story - don't put anything important in there...

rafe
11-04-2014, 09:11
Bounce box is going to have all the disadvantages of a regular mail drop... so there's an incentive to doing as few bounces as possible. Think of it as a self-managed mail drop.

Coffee
11-04-2014, 09:13