PDA

View Full Version : Silk Sleeping Bag Liner, recommendations?

Danwood
11-04-2014, 08:40
One of the moderators over at /r/appalachiantrail (which is also an awesome resource to use) recommended using a silk sleeping bag liner in conjunction with a quilt. Cocoon, Sea to Summit, and Grand Trunk seem to be some of the top producers of these. Does anyone have any specific recommendations on a make/model?

Slo-go'en
11-04-2014, 12:25
I have a couple of the Cocoons. (I left my first one home, then decided I needed one while on the trail so bought another). The Cocoons are pure silk, pack small and are light.

The Sea to Summits which I have looked at are synthetic and significantly larger and heavier. There are several weights to choose from and are probably a little warmer then the Cocoons.

I have no experience with Grand Trunk, never seen one.

DeerPath
11-04-2014, 14:37
I have the Grand Trunk Silk bag. Used it a few nights on the AT in 20 degree temps with my WM Alpine bag. I stayed very warm with the addition of the silk bag.

jimmyjam
11-04-2014, 16:20
I have a Cocoon and I like it. Helps keep your bag or quilt clean too. Packs up to about half the size of a 12 oz beer.

Sent from my SCH-S720C using Tapatalk 2

TNhiker
11-04-2014, 16:33
with those silk liners----have y'all had any rips in them or are they pretty durable?

currently, im using a fleece liner my mom made me one day.......cost like 15 bucks for the material...........a little on the bulky side and probably heavy but it was cheaper than most silks.....

and i agree---i use it to keep down bag a little cleaner.........

T-Rx
11-04-2014, 16:38