PDA

View Full Version : Canister stove problem this weekend - need your thoughts

litetrek
11-10-2014, 10:50
I've been backpacking for 40 years and I've owned and used a lot of stoves over the years. I had a problem with my snowpeak giga power canister stove this weekend that I cant explain. I just couldn't get the flame higher than low. It took me about 10 minutes to boil 3 cups of water for morning coffee. No matter how high I turned the valve it just stayed stuck at a simmer like flame. There was absolutely no wind. It was 41 degrees so it wasn't too close to the temp where canister stove performance degrades due to temp. That said I didn't have it in my sleeping bag overnight because it just wasn't that cold. I was using an MSR isobutane small canister. I usually dont use the small canisters and I usually don't use this stove in low 40's temps. I have never had a problem with any canister of and manufacturer being defective.

Today I got the stove out, set it up on the kitchen counter top and it seems to be working fine. The only thing I can think of is that in order to fit the stove into my mug for packing I have to leave the gas valve open and I always forget to shut it off when I screw on the canister. So gas escapes and cools down the canister while I fumble around getting it lit. ...maybe that was just enough to get the canister temp low enough to degrade performance.

What do you think? Have you ever had this happen?

CalebJ
11-10-2014, 10:58
When you set it up today, were you using the same canister?

Slo-go'en
11-10-2014, 11:01
It probably was cold enough to affect the pressure, especially if it wasn't a new conister. Try putting it in the refrigerator for a couple of hours or over night and see if the problem comes back.

OwenM
11-10-2014, 11:32