PDA

View Full Version : Quick self supported run

BritRunner
11-15-2014, 22:21
So I'm thinking about having a crack at a fast run.

My plan would be fly to Atlanta and run back to ME..

I'm favouring the self supported approach but just fancy no mail drops apart from new trainers..

Just go for it and run.

Is this possible? How much can we just rely on shops en-route? I want to stay close to the trail and obviously use no cars. I've been reading various reports such as Joeycamps but the re-supply issue is what bothers me.

I'd set off with the record in mind but reckon I can spare 60 days.

I'm an ultra runner but not much multi day experience. I've ran races like the UTMB, represented GB in ultra trail running and one of only 3 people to complete the winter paddy buckley in Wales, UK.. 62 miles, 29,000ft of ascent. My ultra running resume is solid, I've given away who I am in that info, so I think I can have a solid shot.

Due to visa situations I work as an adjunct Prof and substitute teach so in the summer work is scarce, without kids I think next summer is an ideal time to go for it.

I realise most go N > S but my wife will be in Philly so by going to ME to finish I can see her more later on.

I've done 2 and 3 day ultra races and races like the three peaks boat race in the UK so do have some experience. I'm checking out the trail when I can and have seen good chunks in , MD (JFK 50 miler), ME, MA, NH, and will check out NJ and NY by then but won't see any of the southern section I'd imagine..

Also regarding water, in the whites I don't bother sterlising water? In europe we don't bother in most areas so plan to do the same and just drink from streams.. is that feasible?

fiddlehead
11-16-2014, 08:54
Experience is important here.
I don't necessarily mean trail running experience (which you have).
But AT hiking experience.
To know about the resupply options and get in and out of town quickly.

But, if you try, we will enjoy following your adventure.