PDA

View Full Version : Safe to hike/camp by myself on appalachian trail?

survivalisthiker
11-26-2014, 23:37
You think I'm safe by myself hiking/camping on the appalachian trail in maryland?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

atmilkman
11-26-2014, 23:40
With a name like suvivalisthiker - my money's on you!

MuddyWaters
11-27-2014, 00:00
Generally yes, but more information would be necessary to elicit informed responses.

AO2134
11-27-2014, 00:04
With a name like suvivalisthiker - my money's on you!

Gold. I am a novice at hiking/backpacking/camping and I am fine in GA. Common sense will take you a long way.

colorado_rob
11-27-2014, 00:06
Offhand, I'd say definitely not.

July
11-27-2014, 00:19
Bottom Line. You will encounter Ridge Runners. If you match up all is Good, if shakey, take your time, time heals. Sometimes.

survivalisthiker
11-27-2014, 01:12
What are ridge runners?

atmilkman
11-27-2014, 01:19
What are ridge runners?

http://www.appalachiantrail.org/what-we-do/trail-management-support/ridgerunners-caretakers

survivalisthiker
11-27-2014, 01:21
I never see anyone on the AT when I go in the winter. It's like no one likes the cold or snow lol

hikehunter
11-27-2014, 01:28
The AT is a high-way for hikers. There are people on it almost everyday of the year....
less in the far north in the winter... be aware of your suroundings.... if you do not have a buddy that goes with you...it is not a game ender...
there is safty in numbers....

if you start a thru in late feb. or early march you will almost never be left alone.....

a lady can do it with little to no fear.... find the group of hikers that feels best and work with them.... there are good people out there....and they will be helpful in your hike.....

the bad people are few and very far between....the media just makes it look like the very bad....it is what they need to sell ....

I hope you find what you need to do a great hike......good luck and enjoy...:cool::D:D:cool:

Malto
11-27-2014, 08:12