PDA

View Full Version : Give it To Me Straight Guys!

TurtleTracker
12-07-2014, 21:56
I'm a novice 26 y/o hiker planning to attempt a thru starting in early April of 2016 or 2017 (depending on my graduation status, but hopefully 2016). I'm using this time to slowly collect gear I will need and so I made a gear grams list of my "proposed" gear that I will need. I've been building this proposed list for quite some time and I think it is finally complete. Now I could use some words of wisdom from you guys! This is especially true when it comes to clothes because I still have no idea how much clothing to pack....

Feel free to tear into it, I want to weigh your thoughts with my own (in more ways than one)! Quick note: Anything that says 0g means that I consider it worn, I tried to keep this at a minimum so I could play it conservatively (obviously more cold weather clothes will be worn at the beginning). Also, if the item isn't descriptive, it's because I already own it or I believe extra info (brand for example) is superfluous or I'm still unsure of exactly what I want (e.g. shoes).

http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=21755

Thanks,
TT

July
12-07-2014, 22:18
Looks like you have done good research, with the extended start date be sure all your gear is used prior to start. I would definitely forgo the trowel and use a dang ole stick. A beanie is a must, would also throw in a buff, little more flexible during the day than a balaclava. There are better options for bearbag than paracord, ie lighter and more efficient check MLD. Besides if there are not poles, sleep with it, but be wary it can be stolen off the poles...:)

Slo-go'en
12-08-2014, 02:09
I would ditch the poncho and get a real rain jacket. Mostly you'll use it for extra warmth and block wind chill. Two things the poncho doesn't do.

You will likely need more insulation then an air pad can give in the hammock - if you can make that work at all. I'll let the experts chime in about that.