PDA

View Full Version : SOBO Thru-Hike Partner Needed

Daniel Dearden
12-15-2014, 11:35
Hey guys! This is my first time posting here but you'll probably be seeing more of me over these next few months. I was curious if anyone a) Didn't have a SOBO partner and was looking for one or b) Already has a group that would consider letting me join them. I was originally going to hike solo but a few things have caused me to change my mind. 1) My vision is pretty bad. I'm legally blind when I don't have my contacts in and barely above legal blindness when I have my contacts in. Now this shouldn't be a huge issue on the trail itself. I'm in good shape and can most likely handle myself when it comes to the physical demands of the trail, but my main concerns are not being able to see the white blazes, crossing streets in towns, not being able to see snakes until I'm already on top of them, etc. 2) This is somewhat of a compromise between my parents and I. I love my folks and I want them to feel at least somewhat at ease about me going on this journey. They would feel considerably more comfortable if I was going with someone. My first year of college ends on May 16th so I can leave for the trail anytime after that. I'm pretty flexible on what time I have to be back but I'd like to be home in time for Christmas. However, if it comes down to it I could continue hiking past that date if needed. Please give this some thought if you're thinking of doing a SOBO hike this year. I've been planning this since my junior year of high school and I think about it every day. I don't think I can wait another year haha. If you consider taking me on as a partner, I'd be grateful.

sobo scotian
01-27-2015, 15:17
I'm hoping to be at Baxter State Park at the end of May. Have you had any luck finding a partner?

Daniel Dearden
01-28-2015, 12:26