PDA

View Full Version : Jetboil Question.

HogFan
12-17-2014, 15:51
The wife says she'll get me a JetBoil for my birthday in January.
She says pick one out. I'm torn between the Flash and the Zip.

What say you fine folks?

RED-DOG
12-17-2014, 16:03
I think I would go with the Flash but have you checked out the Mimo.

Coffee
12-17-2014, 16:05
Jetboil Sol Aluminum is being discontinued. But still available on Amazon.com for $99. That's the model I have and recommend:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004RA2EDU/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_dp_ss_1?pf_rd_p=1944687582&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B005TON9RI&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=1DZQHNNAMJJ5BX1N8XWZ

Connie
12-17-2014, 16:07
Whatever you choose, the Jetboil is for "hot water right now". Boiled eggs, watery soup, hot water.

I have no experience with The "MiniMo". The regulator valve flame control enables a "simmer". If desireable, then, look for the regulator valve flame control on the model Jetboil you select.

To answer the question:

I have the Jetboil Zip "Cooking System Carbon" as called, today. It has no igniter, and an igniter is a convenience. It has the aluminum cooking pot, that will scratch. The utensils are important.

The Jetboil Sol Ti is still available. Find it online. It has the igniter. The titanium will not scratch. It is possible to make marks, but not scratches. I would like to have the Jetboil Sol Ti.

HogFan
12-17-2014, 16:11

Not yet. I'm going by the local outfitter after work tonight, so I'll see if they have one. Thanks!

RED-DOG
12-17-2014, 16:28
Not yet. I'm going by the local outfitter after work tonight, so I'll see if they have one. Thanks!