PDA

View Full Version : Food Bags

Colonel Gear
12-30-2014, 20:38
Any thoughts on food bags? I have been reading about the UR Sac minor and the Z-Packs food bags. Please provide any advice I may need to know before I purchase a food bag for thru-hike.

daddytwosticks
12-31-2014, 08:16
I've been using the Ursak Minor for several years. Never had any rodents get into my food, but I always hang my food. It is not waterproof and seems to absorb water when hung in the rain. I think it weighs like 3 or 4 ounces. Very happy with this piece of gear. :)

T-Rx
12-31-2014, 10:20
I just recently traded in my Ursack for a ZPacks Cuben fiber food bag. I decided to go with the Cuben fiber bag because of the difference in weight, waterproofing and I typically sleep with my food in my tent so I don't worry about rodents as much. The difference in weight is significant when you are trying to shave as many ounces as possible off your pack weight.

swjohnsey
12-31-2014, 12:03
I used some of Zpacks Cuben bags. They are very nice. The problem is that cuben does handle abrasion very well. I ended up replacing them about half-way through . . . with more of the same.

deerdog
12-31-2014, 15:02
I just bought one from Luke's ultralight. It is cuben with nylon outer shell. Looks good just haven't tried it yet.

Hikes in Rain
12-31-2014, 15:27
I'm still using the larger of the Walmart 3-bag set, less than $10 for the set. I must not be one of the cool kids. :cool:

RED-DOG
12-31-2014, 15:44
A close friend of mine just gave me a " 15L Silnylon food bag with 50' of Dynaglide line with a rock sack, made by "Simply Light Designs", the entire set up only weighs 3.0oz's.

usually I just use a 15L bag From OR.

Colonel Gear
12-31-2014, 19:40
your reply is a great help, thanks

Colonel Gear
12-31-2014, 19:41
Thanks for the reply, trying to save as much weight as possible.

Miner
12-31-2014, 21:38