PDA

View Full Version : walking speed on the trail

Footprint
01-03-2015, 13:06
Hello

I am a newbie and wanted to know an "average" speed of walking on the trail. I will be doing the VA part of the trail from rock fish to compton which is about 100 miles. I have 8 days of actual hiking to accomplish this due to work and time off allowed. I am wondering if i am allowing myself too much time or not enough.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.

swjohnsey
01-03-2015, 13:17
Between 10 and 20 miles per day. You should be able to make 100 miles in 8 days if you are in reasonable shape.

Coffee
01-03-2015, 13:22
I did that section in about 4 1/2 days, with the first day at 12 miles starting late morning at Rockfish Gap. I am not sure what the average speed is in SNP, but the park has provided a number of sample itineraries for walking the AT through the park. Check it out:

http://www.nps.gov/shen/planyourvisit/campbc_at_trips.htm

If your overall level of fitness is good and your pack weight isn't too high, I don't see any reason why the 100 miles can't be covered in eight days.

Footprint
01-03-2015, 13:44
Thanks to all for the info. Im in good shape and my trip is in May so daylight is on my side. My goal is to do 100 miles and still be able to stop enjoy everything around me as well. Thanks for the link as well.

Rocket Jones
01-03-2015, 14:41
It's not just how fast you walk, it's how long you walk each day.

MuddyWaters
01-03-2015, 15:14
Its all your shape, your pack weight, your footwear fit, type, and other personal issues.
Even something like wrong clothing that causes chafing, can severly cut your mileage.

Nobody can tell you what you can do. They can only say what others have.
Sometimes thats applicable. Sometimes it isnt.

Miner
01-03-2015, 15:56
Talking about waking speed is pointless. It should be about daily mileage. The number of miles you walk everyday isn't just about how fast you hike but how long you hike as well.