PDA

View Full Version : Camping on Springer Mountain

bigmac_in
10-26-2005, 11:52
I'm a newbie - planning to start section hiking from Springer Mountain this weekend. Wondering if it is OK to camp at the USFS 42 parking area on Friday night. Has anyone done this, or have a better idea?

Can't wait to get started!

Footslogger
10-26-2005, 12:00
Not sure what the overnight regulations are at FS 42 but I'd suggest you park your car there and then walk south the 0.8 miles to the Springer summit and set up camp near the shelter.

'Slogger

bigmac_in
10-26-2005, 12:20
I would go ahead and hike to the summit, but I'm not sure when we'll get there Friday evening. Don't want to hike and/or set up camp after dard.

Footslogger
10-26-2005, 12:27
I would go ahead and hike to the summit, but I'm not sure when we'll get there Friday evening. Don't want to hike and/or set up camp after dard.===============================
Well ...if the weather's good you'll have a little more daylight on the summit than down below. Either way, if it was me I probably wouldn't set up camp right there at FS42. You can just as easily walk into the woods headed north and will find a suitable place to pitch a tent. Another thought would be to just crash in your car and head out early in the morning.

'Slogger

Lone Wolf
10-26-2005, 12:51
I've camped there at FS 42 a bunch of times. Just don't trash it.

max patch
10-26-2005, 13:02
People have camped on the perimeter of the parking lot although more spend the night in their truck or SUV than actually setting up a tent.

Rather than tent at the parking lot if it was me I would continue on to either 3 forks (flat and water) while keeping an eye open for one of the camping spots along Noontootla creek OR I would camp at Hickory Flatts Cemetary.

Given your circumstances I'd recommend staying at the Cemetary. Pitch a tent or sleep under the pavillion.

The Solemates
10-26-2005, 13:11