PDA

View Full Version : Full rain gear vs umbrella and windshell?

b_swan
01-10-2015, 12:26
Been reading alot about how umbrellas are so great for many reasons but I have no experience with them on the trail. I am contemplating using a windshirt and windpants with an umbrella on my thru versus a regular rain jacket and rain pants. Looking for any advice from people that may have used this system on a thru hike.

Coffee
01-10-2015, 12:34
My main concern would be wind. I've been in rainstorms with wind driven rain. I'm not sure how well an umbrella would hold up. And even if it held up, you're going to get wet from wind driven rain anyway. I'm thinking about an umbrella for the PCT for sun protection more than for rain but I'm having trouble justifying the weight.

b_swan
01-10-2015, 12:45
Weight wouldnt really be an issue considering the umbrella is around 5 oz and the windsuit would be around 5 also. So about close to or under what a lightweight rain suit would be. Just dont know if the seldom wind driven rain would outweigh the benefits it would give a majority of the time.

Traveler
01-10-2015, 14:36
The idea of an umbrella is good, however it won't keep you warm. Rain gear will help keep you warm, which can be a serious problem if you don't have that ability. If it's a choice, I will go with the rain gear vs umbrella and wind shell but thats just me. Of all the things that concern me, hypothermia is high on the list.

Sirsnappy09
01-10-2015, 14:48
Attraveler is right. Your rain jacket and pants doubles as a wind proof insulating layer. I personally use it as my outer layer and never take pants. I wear my capilene with shorts over that and if I need more warmth I will use my rain pants. They provide an Incredible amount of warmth by trapping your body heat. Breatheable or not. Pants were always bounced for town stops only.

canoe
01-10-2015, 14:51