PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Section Hiker

Dire Wolf
01-17-2015, 16:02
Hello
As the title says I'm new to backpacking. I have a passion to start section hiking this year. I live in Ma and is looking to start with the CT/MA sections or just one this year. I'm in good shape and will have about 10 to 14 days. My question is being a beginner is it feasible to attempt both in the alloted time or try just one. CT is about 51 miles and MA 90 miles. I dont know the terrain or how many miles I can expect to do a day as a beginner. Thanks in advance.

illabelle
01-17-2015, 17:22
Dire Wolf,
Not sure what you mean by "the allotted time". If you asking whether you can do them both in the same year, absolutely! If you schedule allows it, why not? Husband and I did most of Massachusetts (N Adams to GB) in October 2014. Compared to other parts of the AT we've done, I'd say it's in about the middle as far as difficulty. We haven't done CT yet, so can't comment on it.
Sounds like you need a trail guide. If you don't have one yet, let me recommend http://www.theatguide.com. (http://www.theatguide.com/) It is unbelievably useful. Lots of good info at www.appalachiantrail.org also. Another that everybody seems to use a lot is www.atdist.com.
Let us know what we can help you with. :)

GoldenBear
01-17-2015, 17:39
> My question is being a beginner is it feasible to attempt both in the alloted time
> I dont know the terrain or how many miles I can expect to do a day as a beginner

The second statement makes answering the first question an impossibility.

Some beginners do the entire A.T. in their first try at backpacking.
Others give up after less than 24 hours.
You'll probably fall somewhere in between these two.
But nobody -- and certainly no-one here -- can know what will happen.

When I did my first real backpacking, I over-estimated my expected pace, with truly bad consequences.