PDA

View Full Version : Totally annoyed....

CynJ
10-27-2005, 22:37
I'm getting more and more annoyed with going to outfitters looking for gear. Its like the minute I say that I am new to backpacking they deduct 30 IQ points. :mad:

And I hate how they act like my jeans and flannel shirt are the devil's spawn. One even went so far as to eyeball my clothes and went all fashionista on me saying "you're not going to wear that in on the trail right" :datz I know that lightweight synthetics are good and cotton is bad. But I'm not in the woods right now am I? you rocket scientist you....idiot.

You all have read some of my questions - I don't think I am a total moron. Why do they insist on treating me like one?

And sometimes browsing is just browsing - I want to look around and check out some stuff in person.

And no I don't want to buy a $90 tshirt. And maybe I don't want a self-inflating pad. And no I don't want a canister stove. And you can stick your titanium spork right up your .......:sun

Sorry gang just venting. Makes me appreciate internet shopping even more.

Almost There
10-27-2005, 22:45
That's ok, I'm convinced with each new crop of workers at REI they're gear knowledge drops significantly. Took my wife to try on packs last weekend and we went there first. My wife is 5ft 2in, short torso, long legs, and a size 8. I know what I am doing but get a guy anyways to get her sized properly, I ask him what size does he think, now I'm thinking she's a small, maybe even an x small. He looks at her and goes "medium" In the end after 20 minutes he admits she is in fact an xtra small. In the end we went to smaller outfitter where I know the guys are more informed than I. We settled on a small Osprey Ariel 60, that fit her like a glove. Moral to story...stay away from chain outfitters unless you know exactly what you want...I actually learned this last April, but she wanted to try this time.

Jack Tarlin
10-27-2005, 22:47