PDA

View Full Version : So there's this life….

LilBit
01-21-2015, 22:24
New member here also…So I haven't verbalized my goals, plans to anyone yet. So you will be the first to know and bare with me as this might be lengthy. I have been thinking for about 8 months now of hiking the AT. It has become to where a lot of my spare time has been consumed by daydreaming, researching and reading all about hiking and the AT. However there is more to it…My other intentions are to quit my job and sell my house. I am single, no kids and basically nothing but myself to hold me back. I am a paramedic, have been in this field for 16 years. I do enjoy my job but it is literally sucking the life out of me. Between the hours, the stress and lack of advancement in this field, I am ready for a change. I think a lot about getting out of this career and making some major changes in my life. The events I have witnessed over the years are beginning to haunt me…. I live in my hometown, a very small town in west tennessee. It's a great place to raise a family…however that has never been my dream. I want to do more than what I am right now. I feel like I am watching my life pass me by. Waiting for time to pass…it's becoming depressing. I am an athlete, I bike and am a distance runner, marathoner but I still feel as if I'm lacking something….
So my reasoning in this post it to put this idea out there and to also see if anyone has done anything similar. And hopefully you all will not think I am crazy as my friends and family might. I have very little experience in hiking as I've only done a few day hikes, so I do have a lot to learn. I don't really have a plan for after my return. I know I can come back home ('rents) and even return to truck as a medic although I'm hoping to have other ideas at that point. My stable career, nice house and single life may appear idealistic for some…and even for me a lot of times. But I continue to long for more…. :confused:

illabelle
01-21-2015, 22:46