PDA

View Full Version : Complete newbie, looking for gear advice/help

IWouldWalk2000Miles
01-23-2015, 20:15
Hello, fellow hikers. I'm new here, as well as to hiking, but I've been reading as much information about the AT as I could find, for the past week or so from different online sources. I learned of the AT thru-hike by chance, stumbling upon a blog of someone who had completed it. http://wheresthenextshelter.com/

I am a worrier by nature, the biggest challenge for me will be feeling like I am "complete" and ready enough to hit the trail. I've looked over many of the threads here, and the gear lists are daunting. There are so many choices, pricing variations, I've read a lot, but I'm not sure I understand it all or know what's right for me (being new) and my budget.

I am planning a 2016 NOBO thru-hike, starting in mid-March. I want to give myself enough time to reach Maine, #1 because I'm totally new to hiking, and #2 I don't want to feel pressured while making the journey. I never want to feel like I have to keep a quicker pace than I have set for myself because of time limitations.

Would any past thru-hikers be willing to help me compile a gear list? I haven't seen anyone give an estimation of how much 0 to ready, gear-wise, should cost? I have read that $3-4,500 is sufficient for the actual trail, but how much will gear cost? Should $1,500-2,000 cover everything? If not, how much am I looking at?

Because I'm a constant-worrier, when I see users list things like "head lamp", I know I might need one, but I have no idea what model/price is reasonable, not to mention weight. There are just so many choices, I know if left to my own devices that I will end up completely fubared.

Connie
01-23-2015, 20:50
http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=22273

I have no raingear listed: I would have a LightHeart Gear Hoodie Pack Cover and Rain Skirt.