PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on clothing for my first cold weather overnight

he.who.forgets
01-24-2015, 01:25
The wife and I are planning on hiking a 30 or so mile section of the foothill trail in SC in med February. I'm anticipating lows anywhere from the 30's down to the teens should a system move through the area.
I have zero cold weather hiking experience but I'm warm-natured.
I plan to hike in the following:
lightweight REI brand long underwear underneath Convertible hiking pants
Darn tough mid weight socks
Keen Targhee gore-tex boots
mid weight Smartwool base layer top
cheap poly t-shirt
Marmot precip hard shell if wind is really whipping
I think I'll be comfortable in that combo if I'm moving and may even be too warm if temps are reasonable
My sleep system is where I'm a little more unsure
I have a BA q-core pad and a Sierra Designs Zissou 23 down bag. I also sleep warm, but have never ever slept in temps in the 20's. I'm hoping I can sleep warmly enough in heavy weight wool or synthetic bottoms and another mid-heavy weight wool top.
I also plan to bring a synthetic puffy along for camp/sleep if I temps get dangerously cold.
I'm primarily concerned about safety over comfort.
Will this set up keep me safe and relatively warm?
Thanks y'all!

he.who.forgets
01-24-2015, 01:27
Oh, and are rain/wind pants a necessity? Or will I be fine so long as I have something dry to change into at camp?
Thanks again

Feral Bill
01-24-2015, 01:45
Wool or poly hat, scarf, and mittens+shells.

illabelle
01-24-2015, 06:04
Oh, and are rain/wind pants a necessity? Or will I be fine so long as I have something dry to change into at camp?
Thanks again