PDA

View Full Version : White mountain thru hiking

MarkCevoli
01-28-2015, 19:36
Seems that hiking the Presidentials one can fall into a large expense with the huts or be very inconvienenced camping outside. What is the approach for this section ?

garlic08
01-28-2015, 20:40
I have limited experience there, one thru hike and one section hike. I never spent a penny on camping or lodging in the Whites, and got some nice free leftover breakfasts and cheap lunches at the huts. Some huts offer work-for-stay, but you can't depend on that. AFAIK you can camp below treeline, at least I did. A strong hiker can traverse above treeline in one day, if the huts are full.

Del Q
01-28-2015, 20:48
I plan on hiking from Franconia to Southern Maine this summer, then finishing my section hike in Sept/Oct

My preference is tenting, will probably stay in some huts but if it is the end of the day and I have enough water I am tenting. Yes, even in the Smokies.

If I ever go to jail for something like this so be it. Hot shower, 3 hot meals per day, hmm.

One Half
01-28-2015, 21:00
You can camp below tree line in the whites. If you have any of the trail guides or data books for this area you should be able to find quite a few places to pitch a tent. Some shelters do charge a fee but I don't know if that fee is waived for thru hikers

Slo-go'en
01-28-2015, 23:44
Work for stay is only valid for thru-hikers and the crews are really good at knowing who is and who's not. If not, pony up the big bucks to stay at the hut. Please use the designated camping sites and pay the fees. Contrary to what you hear some people say here, there are not quite a few places to pitch a tent. In fact they are few and far between and can be difficult to locate. If you can see it from the trail, it is not legal. The majority of the trail through the Whites is along barren and rocky ridge lines or up steep slopes with dense forest and covered with big rocks.