PDA

View Full Version : Capilene vs Techwick

fastfoxengineering
02-09-2015, 13:27
So I'm in the market for some new long underwear. I've settled on some lightweight synthetic bottoms for sleeping in and extra insulation when needed. I was pretty set on going with the "industry standard" Patagonia Capilene 2 lightweight bottoms. However, I just discovered I have $50 credit to Eastern Mountain Sports.

How do the EMS Techwick 1 Lightweight bottoms compare to Capilene 2?

Would you recommend one or the other? The EMS T1 stuff is on sale right now and I can get the bottoms for about $27, no cash out of my pocket.

mattjv89
02-09-2015, 14:33
Well I have a lot of experience with the Techwick stuff, can't comment much on the Capilene but as far as I can tell they are both polyester fabrics with some small differences including the brand name. Patagonia might tell you that theirs is certified organic humanely raised polyester.

The Techwick stuff worked well for me, I have a couple tops that are affordable, breathable and quick drying. Like all polyester they get an incredible stink going after a while which is the reason I'm slowly switching over to merino, but that's really the only downside I've experienced.

Just Bill
02-09-2015, 14:42
Long undie bottoms... who cares really. If you aren't going in the winter, at best you will use them for one month outta a six month hike. If that...

If you run really cold, you might use them more. being in Vermont it might make sense to own a nice pair but I worked in Duofold and other store brand cheapies for many years with no complaints. If you don't need anything at EMS- get their undies.

For an AT thru- I'd rather invest in a nice wind pant over long undies- at EMS you may be able to get both for $50 and they will be good enough.