PDA

View Full Version : Thru Hiking in 2016 - Fulfilling a life long dream!

susiegear
02-12-2015, 13:15
So, I have finally decided after 20 years of thinking about it that i'm going to do it! I have confirmed the plans with the wife and she is being supportive with my plans to quit my job and life as I know it to fulfill my dream! I have some experience with 1-2 week backpacking trips but this will be by far the longest I have ever done. My first question might sound kinda dumb but what do you all do with your packs when you go into a grocery store or something like that? On other trips I have been on I was with at least one other person. One would watch the gear and the other would do the shopping. I am planning on being on the AT alone so i will not have someone to watch the gear. Is theft a big concern in the trail towns? Do the stores have some system set up for this? Also, what book is the best trail companion to have on the trail for mileage and maps? is April 15th a reasonable start date? My thought was April 15 thru Oct 15 a the latest. Is this reasonable? I have already learned a ton from lurking on here and I appreciate all of your help!