PDA

View Full Version : Section Hiking Shuttles

Badger Hiker
02-15-2015, 12:09
Hello Everyone! I am a new member of White Blaze and live in Wisconsin. This summer I will start section hiking the AT. I am going to start with a 2 week hike. I am an engineer by profession so very systematic in my thinking (a fault of mine). Due to this I would like to start my section hike at either the North end of the trail or the South end and sequentially do sections toward the other terminus. Right now I am leaning toward starting in the South and heading North. I would wait until the main group of through hikers has left to do my hike this summer.

1.) Is there a forum or thread for section hikers? I can't seem to find anything specifically.

2.) I know that there are for hire shuttle services. Where can one find info on these?

3.) Recommendations?

Thank you,

Dave

illabelle
02-15-2015, 12:31
Badger Dave,
Welcome to WhiteBlaze! We're kinda crazy, but we know everything, so that makes up for it. :rolleyes:
My husband and I are section hikers, doing weekend and occasional weeklong sections. Ain't nothing wrong with starting at one end and working your way to the other, but I'd encourage you to consider "systematically" organizing your plans so that you hike each area at its optimal time of year, with the best weather, the least congestion, the fewest bugs, the best scenery, etc. I mean, if you're gonna section hike, you might as well enjoy one of its primary benefits, right?