PDA

View Full Version : SOBO hike leaving late summer

navyboy3216
02-20-2015, 21:42
Hi all!

I'm brand new to this thread, so a little intro to me. I'm Nathan, and I'm a mainah. I am 18 and decided recently that I wanted to take a year off before college and hike SOBO, slowly. However, in order to save money for gear, I have to work this summer, which means leaving mid-August if i'm lucky. On top of this, I only have a few day-hunting trips and a 10-day hike under my belt. But before you say it's foolish of me, trust me I've heard it all and you can't change my mind.

I was wondering if any of you kind folk have advice for this, and here are my major topics of concern:

If I hike it in say, 10 months, where do you think I would be when winter hits (leaving late August)

Which stove should I bring? (I heard it's really a toss-up and what is preferable to yourself).

Have any of you taken a firearm on a hike before?

General winter hiking tips.

Thanks guys!! :)

V/R,
Nathan

Malto
02-20-2015, 22:25
Why not just hike at a normal pace then do another trail in the spring? I can't imagine how you could possibly take ten months to hike the AT. Good luck.

4eyedbuzzard
02-20-2015, 22:36
. . . I am 18 . . . take a year off before college and hike SOBO, slowly . . . leaving mid-August if i'm lucky . . . I only have a few day-hunting trips and a 10-day hike . . . trust me I've heard it allSince you've already heard it all, what more could anyone say?