PDA

View Full Version : New to backpacking and needing advice!

PA00
02-22-2015, 23:57
As the title says, I'm new to backpacking, in fact, although I've day hiked many, many trails on the west coast, I have never backpacked, so have a few questions for those more experienced then I, particularly about bear bagging and the specific section of the AT I want to hike.

I'm planning to take advantage of some time off in early June to backpack from Damascus, VA to either I-81 near Atkins, or to I-77 near Bland. It appears as if some of that stretch may be sparsely treed, and I was wondering if there are significant stretches where there may not be suitable trees for hanging a bear bag? If so, what do you do?

As an aside, is it worth saving the weight and hanging a bear bag rather then carrying a canister? I hate to add the weight of one, but it sounds as if hanging a bear bag is a PIA, and maybe that may make the weight penalty almost worth it... advice?

Second question... would the first week in June be long enough after trail days in Damascus (May 15-17) for those who attended to have moved on or would I still find a bit of a crowd?

Finally... for warmth that time of year, would a very light weight down jacket and a rain jacket be sufficient or should I pack a fleece too? What's the usual June weather in that area?

Thanks for your input!

illabelle
02-23-2015, 06:53
Welcome to WhiteBlaze PA00! Stick around and you'll learn a lot, maybe make a friend or two. :)
Except for some stretches in New Hampshire and Maine, the AT has plenty of trees. Yes, there are some bald mountains here and there,, including in Grayson Highlands Park just north of Damascus, but even those have trees close by.
Almost no one carries a bear canister. The black bears of the eastern US are timid and shy, and except for those who have learned to associate food with hikers, they usually hurry away when they see humans.