PDA

View Full Version : Currently planning for 2016, starting around March 15....

ohdaisy
03-02-2015, 17:35
Any other ladies stating around the same time?
I do have some prior hiking experience but have never completed a thru-hike or extensive backpacking trip.
Any tips on training prior to taking off?
Any gear recommendations? I would like to hammock camp. I have an ENO DoubleNest that I use as my bed, literally in my room. :)
Still need to purchase most of my main gear.
Fairly petite 24 year old here, if that makes a difference.
This is my first post and forum so if I'm doing something wrong just let me know. LOL.

Thanks in advance!!

heckyesnugent
04-20-2015, 02:05
I'm planning to leave sometime in March 2016 too! I am a beginner so I don't have a lot of advice but it would be cool to meet up!

firegirl130065
04-20-2015, 10:58
I will be leaving end of April for nobo hike. I want to try to do it in 4 1/2 months. I am newer to hiking but I like to think I am in decent shape. I am 34.

tliebs
04-28-2015, 12:32
I'll be leaving from GA around then too. I'll be 25, relatively new to hiking. Lots of planning and training to do!

Moira
04-30-2015, 23:58
I'll be leaving around the same time! I'm 25, some experience backpacking on the AT. I definitely recommend mentally preparing as much as physically!

ohdaisy
06-02-2015, 16:58
Yay! Glad we can all talk beforehand. I have also hiked some on the AT when I lived in Gatlinburg, TN. No backpacking on it though. Anyone in my area of northwest FL? Where are most of you getting your gear? Unfortunately, I don't have an REI in my area. :( Bummer.

Hikingmaddie
06-02-2015, 22:28
Yay! Glad we can all talk beforehand. I have also hiked some on the AT when I lived in Gatlinburg, TN. No backpacking on it though. Anyone in my area of northwest FL? Where are most of you getting your gear? Unfortunately, I don't have an REI in my area. :( Bummer.