PDA

View Full Version : Why you should always bring a map

earlyriser26
03-08-2015, 12:16
Just got back from a day hike in PA. I was only going 9.3 miles. It was clear that no one had been on the trail and the snow started out about a foot and a half deep. By the time I was half way done the snow depth had increased to 2 and a half foot deep. My progress slowed from 1.5 mph all the way down to 0.5 mph. Also, you had to use blazes to tell where the trail was (a questionable thing at best). Fortunately I had a map and found a way down the hill to a road or I might still be out there. I have been hiking the AT since 1969 and this was the first time I feared that I may not make it.

MuddyWaters
03-08-2015, 12:30
a map, and making good decisions, are two separate things. I agree, maps are good. But, deviating off of established trails is a recipe for disaster. Backtracking is a better decision in most cases. Just ask people who do SAR. A common problem with people that get lost, is the inability to give up the effort they made in a certain direction (usually when taking a shortcut), because of the time and effort they have invested. They keep pushing forward, getting more lost, and into more trouble. When all they ever needed to do, was simply backtrack at the first sign of problems.

earlyriser26
03-08-2015, 14:12
First, I took an established blue blaze trail out. Second, I notified my wife of the side trail I was taking. Third, I only pushed toward the closest safe exit point which was 1.5 miles ahead instead of 5.0 miles back. Was it a poor decision to even hike? Probably. My point was something as simple as a map can be a lifesaver.

MuddyWaters
03-08-2015, 14:19
Wasnt referring specifically to you, only saying that people with maps get in trouble too. One problem is, maps dont show off trail obstacles well, in rugged terrain, people often end up injured in some way.

ny breakfast
03-08-2015, 14:42