PDA

View Full Version : The Right Sleeping Bag

R Dogg 21
03-11-2015, 11:49
A friend and I are doing a short trip from Unicoi Gap to Amicalola Falls this fall. The hike will be mid-late October.
Currently I have a 35 degree mummy bag, but I m wondering if this will be warm enough. Should get a 20 degree bag jut in case?
Any thoughts on which one to go with that tie of year in North Georgia?

soumodeler
03-11-2015, 13:29
I hiked from Unicoi north in mid/late October last year and was glad I had a 20* bag. However, I was at higher elevations in NC, and this year could be warmer. I would say wait until a week before you leave and check the weather. You may be able to get by with the 35 bag, may not.

Walkintom
03-11-2015, 14:52
If I expect 35 degree weather I take my 20 degree quilt.

Not that I can't survive otherwise, but I like to be comfy instead of ticked off all night.

Namtrag
03-11-2015, 16:48
I use a 20 degree quilt year round, I just adjust how much of my body is covered by the quilt, and it works great.

Hangfire
03-11-2015, 20:30
I used a 32 from April 4th-May 5th then got it back in September before entering the Whites. If it's a newer bag it should hold up fine, if it gets too cold put your thermals on, more importantly do everything in your power to keep that bag dry!

saltysack
03-12-2015, 19:49
I froze my arse off mid October a several years back on Ga AT in a 30 deg older synthetic bag that had been stored compressed...i

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

saltysack
03-12-2015, 19:52
I didn't realize synthetic had to be stored lose same as down....temps were mid 30s and shivered with a good base layer...I've learned and bought a good down bag the following week...I carry a 15 deg down bag from oct-may....easier to cool down than warm up!!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Dogwood
03-12-2015, 20:41