PDA

View Full Version : Does "slackpacking" count?

dark side
03-14-2015, 13:59
So I'm new to site and not seeking controversies but I do have some questions. I'm starting next week and want to know if "slack - packing" counts for a through hike. Until now I've been just a section hiker.Thanks! :-)

Tuckahoe
03-14-2015, 14:07
Folks will have rather strong opinions one way or the other. In the end though only you can determine for yourself whether it counts.

squeezebox
03-14-2015, 14:15
Some say yes, some say no, It's up to your attitude. Blue blaze into a shelter and take a different blue blaze out, skip a 1/4 mile of the AT, but you hiked twice that. Aqua blaze Shenendoah? Flip flopping? The ATC counts slack packing a few people don't. It's about the hike, not the bragging rights.

Lauriep
03-14-2015, 14:23
Lots of people have their own definition of what counts for a thru-hike. From ATC's perspective, it doesn't matter whether you slack pack or not, how many miles you cover in a day, what direction you go, how fast you hike, in what sequence you hike the A.T. There's a subculture of purists who claim slackpacking doesn't count. Where this came from, exactly, I don't know--it's probably inevitable in all similar pursuits.

As far as I know, it has never been ATC's position, and we are the organization that was formed to oversee the building of the A.T. and has been the lead organization managing and protecting it ever since. We also oversee the official recognition program for 2,000-milers (thru-hikers--defined as completing the A.T. in 12 months or less--and section-hikers alike)

In a way, slackpacking is good for the Trail and trail corridor, in that it reduces impacts associated with overnight camping, and allows more people to enjoy the Trail. Slackpacking can also help support the local communities and business, which is generally good for the Trail and for hikers.