PDA

View Full Version : What's in your first aid kit?

adamussg
04-01-2015, 17:38
I'm trying to get an idea of what people are packing as a first aid kit. I leave for Springer Tues and am trying to shave weight anywhere I can!!!

BirdBrain
04-01-2015, 17:57
I barely have any dedicated 1st aid items. I concentrate more on prevention. I use body glide liquifued powder on my feet every morning. I keep my toenails clipped. I carry a small amount of gauze and a tiny amount of neosporin. If it is a big injury, I will tear up clothing, break trekking poles for splints, use duct tape and super glue if needed. At that point it is just a matter of getting off the trail. If my injury is so great that those things won't work, no 1st aid kit is going to save me. My kit used to have all kinds of stuff. No more. Just my take on it. I am not a doctor.

Walkintom
04-01-2015, 18:15
I carry a couple of the flat foil single use ointment packs, a safety pin, a couple of band-aids and an ace bandage. There's about a foot of duct tape on my trekking pole if I need it as well.

Most trail woes are things that prevention is the best method of handling as BirdBrain stated.

I carry a travel size stick of deodorant and use it as antichafe as needed. I have some Dr. Bronner's as well for everything from dishes to personal cleanliness. Prevention beats treatment.

Donde
04-01-2015, 18:16
A little bit of gauze, a tampon, and an ace wrap (ace wraps are good to have for sprains and swelling aswell) to control bleeding. Duct tape (which you should have anyway) and clothing/poles/whatevers on hand for splinting. Antibiotic ointment. a few benadryl caps. a few immodiem caps. 1 cycle of tindazole (for Giardia) any meds you regularly take. Dermabond if you can get, super glue if you can not. Body glide to prevent blisters, benzoin tincture (to go with duct tape) if you got blisters. I also carry one Israeli style bandage, but that is likely overkill.