PDA

View Full Version : Helmut's Ladder vertical, etc.

teefal
04-06-2015, 17:15
Hi all, I'm new to Whiteblaze and have been prep'ing for some longer section hikes on my local stretch of the AT, from Port Clinton to DWG, the northern border of the Lehigh Valley.

Halfway through there's a blue blaze trail that goes to Delps Spring and down to a parking lot. Just below the spring there's a long steep stone staircase that a maintainer once told me was called Helmut's Ladder, named for the man who pretty much made it on his own.

Anyway, that climb was tough today, much tougher than the southern part of Lehigh Gap which I did a few days ago.

On the trail I got to wondering how it compares to other tough verticals on the AT. It's about 800 feet in 2/3 of a mile, so adjusted about 1200 in a mile.

How does this compare? I'm trying to scope my training a bit.

Also, if anyone has more detail on Helmut and his efforts, I'd love to hear it.

Teefal

jeffmeh
04-07-2015, 09:01
Relatively steep, but relatively short, and the stairs are likely providing regular footing that many other steep sections of trail lack, particularly in NH and ME. That said, on a NOBO thru, you will be in great trail shape by the time you get up there. :)

teefal
04-07-2015, 09:28
Would the Lehigh Gap north climb be closer to the NH/ME ones (other than being short). I hear that's a tougher scramble.

Another Kevin
04-07-2015, 09:54
I don't have anything for you about Helmut, sorry!