PDA

View Full Version : Making it all fit?????

FreshStart
04-08-2015, 12:57
Excuse me if this has been asked, ive searched and cant come up with anything. Whats the best way to pack a pack so everything fits? Ive been trying all differant things to cram all my gear in my pack and its just not working. I just got the Atmos AG 50 and the contured back of the pack makes it really difficult for me to get my tent and sleeping bag into the bottom. Is there any secret to this. I have things in compression sacks, compressed as much as possible. Im a total newb to hiking and im planning my first weekend trip and cant seem to find a good way to stow all my gear. Any tips would be really appreciated. Whats works for you guys?????? This is bending my mind:confused:

BirdBrain
04-08-2015, 13:01
Get rid of the compression sack for the sleeping bag. Let it be the soft material that forms around other rigid objects. Do the same thing with your clothes. Compression sacks create inflexible bowling balls that weigh more. That will not solve all your issues, but it is a start.

ChrisJackson
04-08-2015, 13:06
I have a tough time too sometimes getting all my gear in my 50 liter pack...and, I'm in Georgia. I see your in New Jersey. My point is I currently have the luxury of a smaller ~25* bag. I can just get all my gear and 5 days of food in (including a readin' book!) Have you tried *not* using the compression stuff sacks? Even though some of the stuff is compressed in sacks, there can be small voids of empty space between them that could be filled if you just go without the sacks and cram everything in... Also, consider what you can lash to the outside of your pack. Keep tryin! You'll get it.

BirdBrain
04-08-2015, 13:16