PDA

View Full Version : Questions about PA section 10 of the AT

Ashman
04-09-2015, 20:08
Planning a section hike in Pennsylvania this summer from PA 325 to Penn/Mar State Park. I'm reading the AT guidebook and the lead info for section 10 has some things that seem a bit curious to me. This is Section 10 PA Rt. 944 to Boiling Springs 12.3 miles. The info states that section is in a mixture of woods, fields, and cultivated farm lands, that summer hiking can be dry and hot and o carry plenty of water. In the Shelters and Campsites section it states that there are no shelters in this section and that camping and campfires are prohibited. So if you are doing a long distance hike do you just have to blow through the area? Hiking South/North stop in Boiling Springs for the night and push through the next day? If you are hiking North/South do you just have to stop short of 944 and push through to Boiling Springs the next day? As I am studying the maps and books, Pennsylvania seems to be a bit of a contradiction. The profiles look to be much flatter than the trail to the South but I have heard that PA is challenging both in terms of a lot of little up and downs that down show on the profile and in terms of being really rocky. PA Hikers, is the guidebook overcautious?

ki0eh
04-09-2015, 20:30
That stretch, the bottom part of the Cumberland Valley crossing, is a narrow strip of government owned land between subdivisions and farms. A couple of the fields although owned by the government are still leased to neighboring farmers. The narrow strip is more wooded than it used to be, CVATC mows about 50% less of the trail now than they did 15 years ago. There is a water tap at the Scott Farm Trail Work Center about 2 miles south of the tunnel under PA 944. You can scoot down around the overpass over US 11 and go to the Middlesex Diner or various trucker motels. Thru hikers pretty much blow through the area.

tf bear
04-09-2015, 21:10