PDA

View Full Version : Q's Concerning Body Weight and Foot Growth/Expansion

WalkingChris
04-12-2015, 09:11
Hi to all! Newbie here with day-hiking experience, planning a half-thru from Springer to Harper's in 2016. Still doing a lot of research and reading and have already started to plan some overnights this year for prep and experience.

Two issues I couldn't find discussed on this board or much of anywhere else:

1. Dropping body weight. A whole lot of discussion of pack weight, but not much info on dropping body weight for long-distance hiking. Now, I realize a whole lot of you folks are probably already at optimum weight, but what about us other folks that pack on weight in the winters? I am female, 35, six feet tall, big-framed, and usually weigh around 220 pounds. When summer gets started, though, I fight off about 20 pounds with a chair and a whip, to keep my ankles and knees happy. Is this something that just happens naturally long-distance or is it something to be done on purpose pre-trip? I figured I'd probably want to push down to around 180 (as low as I can usually get on healthy diet and exercise) for this trip, but from reading about it, it doesn't seem like much of a concern. Thoughts? Should I worry more about conditioning or more about body weight? Which is the higher priority? I want to be kind to my joints and do the best thing.