PDA

View Full Version : 30-degree mummy bag really ok in 35 lows?

linus72
04-22-2015, 11:50
I have a 30-degree ALPS mummy bag which has served me well and an REI flash insulated sleeping pad with an r-value of 3.2. I am doing an overnight on the trail this weekend in NY where lows Saturday are supposed to be 35 degrees. I am bringing long underwear and can sleep in that and my long sleeve icebreaker merino base layer and socks and a beanie. Will this be enough? This is definitely the coldest temp I have slept in.

I will also be in a double-walled tent and next to my wife and hiking partner so I am assuming all these factors will keep the tent and me warm enough, but let me know if you think a liner is also needed as I'm hitting REI tonight for some last minute needs. I have also read having a hot drink before bed will help.

2000miler
04-22-2015, 12:18
If you're worried, bring a few of those air-activated hand warmers (Hot Hands, I think is the brand). Stick some in your sleeping bag and I bet you'll be feeling toasty in no time.

Rain Man
04-22-2015, 12:26
It would not be enough for me, but you are correct about having fuel in your belly will make a big difference. "Hot Hands" or similar could make a difference, yes.

Another good idea is to take a Nalgene brand hard bottle. Fill it with boiling water, put it in a sock or wrap in a t-shirt. It'll keep you amazingly warm.

Sleeping bag ratings are (to my knowledge) rated more for survival than for comfort.

linus72
04-22-2015, 12:27
and some whisky, right? right? :) thanks!

LoneStranger
04-22-2015, 12:31
So long as you have some good insulating layers, I like fleece for sleeping, you should be fine. I push well below ratings on my quilts by wearing insulation to bed, but it is easier to vent excess heat in a quilt.

Hand or toe warmers are a good idea in cold weather though. A bit of extra weight, but a great insurance policy...just in case.

Hangfire
04-22-2015, 12:39