PDA

View Full Version : Better all season pad: Xlite vs. Xtherm

teambayern
04-30-2015, 14:25
I'm new to backpacking, and was fortunate enough to be given an Xlite (new) and also an Xtherm (almost new, REI garage sale). I know from other threads that xtherm is more durable, warmer, but also a little heavier. Being new to this, I don't need two pads, and plan on returning/selling the one I don't keep (the Xlite actually cost $40 more given the deal my wife got on the Xtherm). I will be doing mostly April - October camping/backpacking in MA, NH, and ME with an EE 20 degree quilt. I'm mainly trying to decide whether Xtherm would be overkill/too hot for this use, or whether i'm better off hanging on to the more durable pad.

Dholmblad
04-30-2015, 14:35
Will you actually be camping in the winter? Or what do you think the lowest degrees you will be going down to?

teambayern
04-30-2015, 14:54
Very little winter camping, if any. We sometimes go up to Maine in late Fall, where it gets near or just below freezing, but that would probably be the limit for the foreseeable future. (The title probably should have been best all around 3-season pad, I now realize).

The Kisco Kid
04-30-2015, 15:29
Go with the Xlite. It's plenty warm for three season camping. XTherm is just too heavy.

kenp
04-30-2015, 16:46
Sorry if this is a noob question, but the xtherm is only 2.8oz heavier than the xlite, but has a significantly higher r-value. Might not the warmer pad allow for a lighter bag and maybe lighter sleepwear.

Is there any way to calculate what the weight savings might be for a given r-value.

Personally I sleep cold, and find a 40deg bag just about at the limit in summer in VA on the AT, I'm thinking investing in a xtherm just for the warmth (extra comfort would be nice also)

Lyle
04-30-2015, 18:47