PDA

View Full Version : Total NOOB here curious about the MA section

Billiard Yeti
05-11-2015, 10:14
I'm a camper who wants to start backpacking (actually a Hammocker). Anyway, want to check out the MA section and wonder what is the best and worst time of year to go and why.

Thanks in advance...

Sarcasm the elf
05-11-2015, 10:58
Depends in what you're looking for, in my mind there is no bad time to be on the trail, but most people
would probably consider the best time to be Early-September (after labor day) to early October. The temperatures are mild but usually above freezing*, the bugs are mostly gone, there is usually plenty of water but very little mud, and there are usually enough people out that you won't be alone, but the crowds will be gone. Do keep in mind that the trail can get busy wheb the leaves are changing, espcially on the weekends, i've never seen this as a problem, but if you are looking for solitude then weekdays or weekends later in the season will see less people on the trail.

*Check the forecasts, I have occasionally camped in freezing conditions in October in MA.

Starchild
05-11-2015, 11:00
It's a nice section year round. Snow/ice is a issue in the winter Bugs can be in low lying areas at certain times in the summer. The NoBo bubble is around June/July, SoBo micro bubble Sept'ish, might be a positive or negative aspect depending on the person.

burger
05-11-2015, 13:01
Depends in what you're looking for, in my mind there is no bad time to be on the trail, but most people