PDA

View Full Version : 3 week hike begins in 3 weeks at Springer. Unprepared is an understatement. HELP!

0utlier
05-13-2015, 23:18
I'm 44 and in OK shape. I run, mountain bike, and hit the gym from time to time. Since my early twenties I've obsessed over thru-hiking the AT, but now I'm married and have an 11 and 9 year old so being away for 6 months is unrealistic at the moment. Over the last few months I've been heavy into watching thru-hike videos and my desire for some AT time is through the roof.

As luck would have it my daughter is doing a ballet intensive in Athens, GA for 3 weeks beginning June 7th and Athens is 85 miles from Springer. My son is going to summer camp for 2 weeks beginning on the same date. I now find myself with the opportunity to hike 3 weeks of the AT. Unfortunately, June 7th is about 3 weeks away.

I have no gear and I have no extended camping experience, but I have much desire.

I've been consuming as much of whiteblaze.net as I can, but it can quickly become information overload.

I realize most people prepare for months or years for a thru-hike. Unfortunately, I find myself in a position where I have very little time to prepare for my 3 week adventure.

I'm not sure what I'm asking other than if anyone has any input. The gear list at http://lighterpack.com/r/50uokc seems to be pretty good, but any advice is truly welcomed.

Tipi Walter
05-13-2015, 23:37
3 weeks is a long time for an extended backpacking trip and yes, I consider your AT hike an extended backpacking trip, with several food resupplies. What others would call a section hike.

I know Mississippi is not the mountains but if you have a backyard or a porch or deck you could help yourself by using your gear and by starting to sleep out every night to see how you do on the ground and/or inside your tent. It takes a while to get used to a sleeping pad and learning how to quickly set up a tent so when it's raining or it's dark you won't get confused.