PDA

View Full Version : GPS Tracking Section Hike

jarofkla
05-21-2015, 07:58
Just curious, how many others are utilizing a GPS tracker on their hikes.

I've been using a SPOT Messenger for 5 years. It works fairly well, but under moderate tree cover, it is "spotty". Are there other devices that are more reliable or do all have trouble in foliage?

BTW, I'll be on the trail tomorrow and through the weekend hiking Craig Creek Road to Bobblet's Gap. Track me at http://www.hikeforhomes.org!

bemental
05-21-2015, 08:16
By their very nature, GPS devices are receivers and require line of sight (LOS) with their satellite counterparts, unless additional radios (cellular, WAP) are built in.

Most of the devices we as hikers use (SPOT, DeLorme) are very passive in nature to save on battery, and as such have the same difficulties as others with trees and foliage.

You'll notice that your average smart phone, with a cell connection, may give you a better GPS position in foliage at times, or in urban jungles as well, due to its ability to use multiple sources (cellular radio, wifi, GPS, etc.) to determine location, instead of relying on one source alone.

Finally, changing the frequency of which your GPS updates its location (every minute versus every 10 minutes, or better yet, 'active' location updates), while a huge drain on the battery, should give you better location data to one degree or another.

linus72
05-21-2015, 10:11