PDA

View Full Version : Just Starting

solana
11-14-2005, 18:26
Hi!

I am going to hike the AT but I'm pretty new to long hikes. What I'm planning on doing is starting at the bottom in march/april and hiking halfway, taking july/august off and returning from the top down to where I left off in the spring in Sept.

The only thing I'm not certain of is if it's smart to go this spring (2006) or should I wait another year?

I have to do it in these two stages as my health suffers a bit in heat and humidity!

thanks for any advice.:sun

Mouse
11-14-2005, 18:40
2006 seems as good a year as any. :)

I would suggest get the lightest equipment you can afford: less weight means less strain on the body and a better chance of finishing.

I found it very helpful to read the online journals at http://trailjournals.com/ especially those by women. They let me know what to expect and gave a wealth of helpful experience.

Here are two books that helped me as well:
Hiking the Triple Crown: How to Hike America's Longest Trails
by Karen Berger

Women & Thru-Hiking on the Appalachian Trail
by Beverly "Maine Rose" Hugo

And as you consider different items of equipment and form your plan, ask lots of questions here.

HarleyHogPit
11-14-2005, 18:52
Hi Solana, I say if you have the time to go now I wouldn't wait another year. Go for it! I'm also new to the long distance hiking scene but I'm gonna give it a shot. I'll be starting around April 1st. GOOD LUCK!

solana
11-14-2005, 19:36
thanks you guys! this is super advice and thanks for the reading material as well! it will be used!

Spirit Walker
11-14-2005, 22:09
I agree, if you have the time, the health and the money to go now, do it. You don't know what is around the bend. You may end up with circumstances two years from now that won't allow you the freedom to do a long hike.