PDA

View Full Version : Comfort Question

71bronco
05-28-2015, 09:57
I have been a day hiker for awhile and I'm new to multi day trips, I hope to start this year after the basic gear list that you pack what are some comfort items you have packed or used? As in chairs or other items?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Francis Sawyer
05-28-2015, 10:00
Small whiskey flask! And cigars!

illabelle
05-28-2015, 10:48
We carry a small inflatable seat cushion. Great for when you need to kneel on hard/rough surfaces. It's waterproof, so we can sit on a wet log without getting wet.

Depending on the length/difficulty of the trip, we might take a small frying pan. It widens the variety of foods we eat.

We never carry a chair. Too heavy. :)

Lyle
05-28-2015, 11:33
All the time:

Sit pad, just a short piece of an old closed cell pad. Keep it handy for breaks. Acts as a "door mat" at the tent entrance.
Insulated mug/cup to keep hot drinks hot while you enjoy them and relax.
Camp shoes

Winter:

Down booties, worth their weight in gold for added comfort, both in the bag and around camp when the temps get into the teens or lower.

Studlintsean
05-28-2015, 11:43
Camp shoes and Whiskey. Always.

Vegan Packer
05-28-2015, 12:17
I decided to carry a full sized sleeping pad that is wide enough to make me comfortable (Therm-a Rest Neo Air Trekker, 72 x 25), and I got a small pillow (Therm-a-Rest Compressible, Small). I want to get a good night's sleep and feel rested in the morning. I am willing to carry a few extra ounces for a few creature comforts.

Nooga
05-28-2015, 12:20
Inflatable pillow and closed cell sit pad.

BirdBrain
05-28-2015, 12:38
It is comfortable to carry less. I cannot sleep unless I have a pillow and an air mattress and a Big Agnes bag that keeps the air mattress under me. I swap the comfort of a lighter pack for the comfort of sleep.

Namtrag
06-02-2015, 15:10