PDA

View Full Version : Section hike training

Mandalorian
05-28-2015, 16:49
I'm planning to hike the entire Mass. section in late August or early Sept.It's about 90 miles. I'd like to know if anyone has ideas as to how much and what kind of training I might . I' m already quite fit from x/c skiing and snowshoeing. Also I've periodically been hiking 4 to 8 miles per outing. Help?

Slo-go'en
05-28-2015, 17:18
Mass is really, really easy. If you fit and stay toned, shouldn't be a problem. Just keep doing what you've been doing to stay active.

q-tip
05-28-2015, 17:21
The program I have been using for several years in this book: "Climbing: Training for Peak Performance" by Clyde Soles. Excellent 90- day program.

Cookerhiker
05-28-2015, 20:37
Of the 5 New England states through which the AT passes, Massachusetts is the easiest. You still have some ups and downs of course but with the exercise you're currently getting from your hikes, I think you'll be fine.

hikernutcasey
05-31-2015, 12:18
As others have said the most important thing is just being active before your hike. You don't have to be able to run a marathon or anything but just some sort of exercise a few days a week and you will be fine.
One thing I would add that I tell people is to wear your pack with weight in it to prepare yourself. Nothing helps me more than getting used to having weight on my back.

Another Kevin
05-31-2015, 17:13
As others have said the most important thing is just being active before your hike. You don't have to be able to run a marathon or anything but just some sort of exercise a few days a week and you will be fine.
One thing I would add that I tell people is to wear your pack with weight in it to prepare yourself. Nothing helps me more than getting used to having weight on my back.

This.