PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone extended a section hike?

TwoForty
11-16-2005, 20:27
I am planning a 10-12 day trip for the summer. I'd like to do a short hike since I am new to the AT, but I could easily see myself extending it to 20 or even 30 days if I am feeling froggy.

Has anyone ever done this?

Tramper Al
11-16-2005, 21:02
I am planning a 10-12 day trip for the summer. I'd like to do a short hike since I am new to the AT, but I could easily see myself extending it to 20 or even 30 days if I am feeling froggy.

Nope, not me. The whole deal when I hike a section of trail is that I have a limited time to be away from home. Now sometimes I finish early and go hike some nearby peaks before heading home. But it's difficult to hike more oneway trail miles once I have shuttled (by ride, bicycle or float plane) and then hiked back to my car. And it's difficult to extend the time if I've budgeted all my available time for the section already.

Sounds fun it you can do it, though!

TwoForty
11-16-2005, 21:21
Luckily I have the time and I can always hire a shuttle. I can just see myself wanting to go on.

I've got nothing better to do this summer. :sun

neo
11-16-2005, 22:22

you might as well start in the south,i section hiked from amicola falls in ga
to damascus va from may till dec in 2001,i did 8 hikes that varied from 1 week to over nite:cool: neo

Lilred
11-16-2005, 22:37
I did that last summer. I'm a teacher so I have lots of time. Planned to go out for four weeks and ended up doing five. This year I plan on doing the month of June, but if I feel like it, I'll keep on truckin into July.

weary
11-16-2005, 22:39
I hiked off and on in 1993 with four or five kids, including a 19-year-old homeless girl, who had planned a week on the trail, but kept going all the way to Harpers Ferry before leaving for summer jobs.