PDA

View Full Version : How do I get back to my car on the AT?

bnmakr1
06-19-2015, 13:48
This is my first time on the AT. I plan on doing an 80 mile hike with a friend starting at Springer Mountain, but how do we get back to our car?

I've been searching for a clear cut answer for a couple days and couldn't find one.

twilight
06-19-2015, 13:59
Generally I would say section hiker hire a shuttle driver. You can find a list of shuttle providers on thE ATC website.

Twilight

Odd Man Out
06-19-2015, 14:02
Welcome to WB and the AT. I hope you have a great hike.

If you go to the AT website you will find a page listing shuttle drivers in the area you are hiking. You can arrange with one of them to give you a ride. There are not too many places on the trail with access to public transportation so unless you have a friend who can drive you or you are hiking with a buddy who also has a car then this is your best bet. It will cost you so you just have to include this as part of your hiking expense. Arranging to meet a driver can be problematic dice you can't predict with great certainty exactly where you will be at any given moment. I really like not having to hike to a fixed schedule. Thus it is a popular strategy to park your car where you plan to end your hike and have the driver shuttle you to the starting point and then hike back to your car.

gsingjane
06-19-2015, 14:06
Welcome to the wonderful world of section hiking! Transportation to, from and in between is probably the most fiendishly complicated and difficult part of any section. Many a day have I envied thru-hikers, who by and large only have to worry about getting on and getting off, once each! Lucky them!