PDA

View Full Version : VHF reference

FlyFishNut
06-30-2015, 15:28
A few weeks ago someone made a post about what would be useful to take camping (I think it was a female blogger) and she was given a bit of a ribbing.

Anyway - she or someone else made a reference about bringing a VHF radio. I have a lot of experience with these on the ocean - and these units are line-of-site, so it left me pondering how useful a VHF is in the mountains.

Obviously topography (being in a valley or gulley) and if miles of trees are in the way, the signal will be compromised.

The reason I ask is we are going to Dupont State Forest and my 18 yr old and his buds will be hiking, swimming, etc. I wonder if it is worth it to get another hand-held (already have one for the boat) and bring it along in case anyone gets injured, snake bit or whatever.

Anyone having experience using VHFs in the mountains? It never occurred to me to consider VHF's until that post from a few weeks ago mentioned it.

Dochartaigh
06-30-2015, 15:38
They're good for about a mile maybe, even in terrain with some ups and downs in-between (of course many units advertise 16+ miles but I've never, ever, seen them work that far away unless you're on top of a mountain or something with a good line of sight). Of course if you're trying to reach somebody on the other side of a mountain - even with them being much less than a mile away (in a straight line) they're not going to work at all.

We used them back when I played Airsoft quite a bit, and even in the 900+ acre area we played in they seemed to work maybe 80-90% of the time (with most likely a lot of user error involved). And they definitely worked a lot better than the people who were using FRS/GMRS radios.

Try to get a hand held unit that's 5 or 7 watts with a good antennae and see how they work for you. About a year ago one of the best inexpensive handheld units was the Baofeng UV-B6, but I think they have a newer 7 watt unit out now.

Slo-go'en
06-30-2015, 16:09