PDA

View Full Version : 1 week hiking GA section up to Muskrat Creek Shelter or Standing Indian

zeldaminor
07-22-2015, 11:39
I'm a newbie backpacker doing a week in early September starting at Springer Mountain and aiming for Muskrat Creek Shelter or Standing Indian. I'm starting the Saturday of Labor Day weekend and wondering what people and bear conditions will be like. I've done day hikes on the AT but this is my first time overnighting it. Should I expect crowds? Should I try to stay at shelters or do trailside camping? I've heard there are "bear seasons" and was wondering if this is a time when they're likely to be more active?

I'm excited but a little intimidated and trying to learn all I can before I go. Thanks in advance :)

Gambit McCrae
07-22-2015, 12:14
Down that far south you will still be in bear season, and 100 degree days. Its just walking no need to be intimidated, Start at springer, hike south bound the mile or so to the summit, then turn around and start north bound. There is not parking at muskrat creek shelter so you will be shooting for deep gap which is the first parking after ga/nc border. Standing Indian is a mountain no parking at that data local either. Your next road/ parking would be Mooney Gap (I believe).

illabelle
07-22-2015, 12:44
100° in early September? Not so sure about that. From the website I looked up, low 60s at night, low 80s during the day are average temperatures. 10-15° up or down from there should get you in the neighborhood of record lows and highs.

There is a requirement to use bear canisters in a portion of that area during the spring. I'm not aware of any heightened concern during the fall.

Hope you enjoy your hike, and welcome!

zeldaminor
07-22-2015, 14:11
Thanks for the replies and welcome :)