PDA

View Full Version : Is this a good overall price & weight?

BP219
07-22-2015, 19:44
So I'm pretty new to backpacking (have hiking and camping experience in many different areas tho), and I just want to know if this is a good deal for the items I've looked up:
65 Liter Bag
1 person tent + 'tarp'
Sleeping bag +20 degrees + pad
Water Filterx2
Stove

All this for a total of $323 and a total weight of 14 pounds.

The other things I'm looking into:
New Pair of trail shoes
Wool Socksx4
Puff Jacket
Poncho
Moisture Wicking Underwearx3
Moisture Wicking Pantsx3 (already have one pair)
Moisture Wicking Shirtsx3 (already have all three)
Cold Gear Skin Tight Shirt (already have)
Pajamas (already have)
---I'm guessing for everything up to this line will be another $290-300---
First Aid Kit
Head Lamp (+ extra batteries)
Phone + Battery Phone Charger
Map
Compass
Knife
Lighter
Cotton balls
Rope
Patch Kit
Whistle
Metal Cup
2x Water Bottles
Insect Repellent
Sandals
Bandana
--Thinking this will be another total of $100 or so--

So I'm expecting all my gear to be around:
$750

What else would you say is needed? The AT won't be my first backpacking journey, I'm thinking about either Isle Royale or the PCT Section G to be my first. Or maybe even Arches, not too sure yet haha.

Tuckahoe
07-22-2015, 20:04
You didnt provide specifics, but I would be wary of a pack, tent and sleeping bag that were coming in at a price of $300 +/-. At that price you are most likely getting big box store, Target or Walmart type gear, which Iis not always the deal it seems to be.

Slosteppin
07-26-2015, 20:51
I guess that depends on what you call "good". Comparing the first part of your list with what I used on my last hike; my bag, tent, pad, stove and filter cost close to $900 and weighs 6 lb 3 oz.

Of course my numbers were different when I started backpacking 35 years ago.

Venchka
07-26-2015, 21:20
Hmmmm.....
1 person bombshelter tent: 4 pounds. 1994