PDA

View Full Version : Would this size pack be a 'safe' pack?

BP219
07-25-2015, 01:01
Hello! I'm pretty new to backpacking and for a late birthday, my sister is getting me a pack. She said it's either 'now or never' so I'm going to be jumping on the opportunity. However, I do know what everyone says to do first, 'put all your gear into a box and see how much volume/room it takes up'. The only problem is, I don't really have any gear yet other than a headlamp, first aid kit, a few clothes, etc. just small items. Since I'm really keen into hiking, camping, etc. and have a few trips planned out for this year, I'm thinking that I should just go with a 70 Liter backpack. I 'feel' that this is a safe size and that it'll fluctuate during the times I go (sometimes it'll be in November, other times March then May), and I'll have enough room for my gear ('feel' is just going off on what I heard, no real proof). I so far tried to guesstimate weight by looking into items I'm interested in getting and so far it's going to be around 24 lbs w/o food. I figured that with 5 lbs of food added in it would be around 29-31 pounds. So, back to the question, do you think just getting a 70 Liter backpack would be good? Thanks!

MuddyWaters
07-25-2015, 01:13
Maybe

A backpack with no gear to put in it, is pretty useless though.

You dont know what you need, want, or like. Getting something just to get it is a way to make a poor purchase. Dont rush, and dont be too cheap. Both will waste lots of money and time.

Sarcasm the elf
07-25-2015, 01:23
Before you go any further, is the pack in question one that you have tried on, or better yet been fitted into by a knowledgeable person at an outfitter? Honestly, I'd never recommend letting someone else buy you a pack arbitrarily. How a pack fits is arguably just as important as how a pair of shoes fits, even the best ones can be great or terrible depending on your individual fit.