PDA

View Full Version : How physically prepared were you when you started?

LostInSpace
11-23-2005, 14:33
I am wondering how physically conditioned are hikers when they start a thru hike. Do you think you were prepared enough? If not, would you likely have conditioned yourself better if you did it again? Would you have altered your pace, schedule, etc., to compensate rather than prepare differently?

Background: I am not sure when I will do a thru hike. I do not want to put it off too long … the years are catching up to me, but I am still trying to outrun them. I am in good health and probably in a little better than average physical condition for my age … of course that is all relative. I have been BPing off and on for 30 years. A couple of years ago I hiked across the Sierra Nevada and last year hiked the Bob Marshall Wilderness for two weeks without any problems (lots of elevation change and saw zero people except the first day in and the last day out). This year the longest hike was in Zion NP, but there were not a lot of days out without re-supply.

chris
11-23-2005, 14:39
I was moderately fit when I did my first section hike in 2002. In 2004, I was in good shape. I'd say that most hikers start out in town shape, which is to say not very good for the elevation changes, steepness, and weight. Personally, I'd want to be the best shape I could be at the start of a hike, mostly so that physical problems don't drag me down and I can spend all my energy on the mental and spiritual issues that come up at the start.

Tin Man
11-23-2005, 14:47
I haven't thru hiked, but I have done 50 mile stretches (63 miles this year) and have read extensively. I am sure you will get lots of advice and here are the basics I have read and somewhat experienced myself: