PDA

View Full Version : Training regimine

Limbohiker
11-23-2005, 19:42
The way things are looking i may be completing a thru hike starting june of 2006 so I started training just incase.

Race pace mile run
15 minutes of lifting
10 minutes of stretching/yoga
20 minutes of core training
5 days a week

any input? what about diet? should i be taking in more calories?
someone suggested that i gain 10-15 pounds before i begin so that i dont thin out to much during the hike (im 5'4" 118)

Chip
11-23-2005, 20:21
Check out some of the threads that all ready exist regarding this subject.
Health, Safety, Hygiene. Thread is "Getting Into Shape" started by Kerosene, 9/05/2002. See reply from Dee, dated 11/29/03 (for example). There are many things you can do. I think some folks go with what works for them. I walk each day, 4 miles, workout with weights and try to get in at least a 7 to 10 mile hike on the weekend. Try to eat the right foods most of the time.
(I am a section hiker so the temptations are out there to get me :eek: ). For me, a good cardio work out is essential daily if I can't do the other things I list.
Good Luck :)
Chip

Peaks
11-24-2005, 09:25
For the total couch potato, Backpacker Magazine developed an 8 week training program. Should be on their website.

Mouse
11-24-2005, 09:41
Find a steep hill nearby and carry your loaded pack up it several times a week. Nothing works the quads like lugging a load uphill. In a pinch stairs work too.

Kerosene
11-24-2005, 09:55
For the total couch potato, Backpacker Magazine developed an 8 week training program. Should be on their website.Here is the link: http://backpacker.genesant.com/asp/backpacker/templates/splash_678/0,6183,678_,00.html

Kerosene
11-24-2005, 09:56
There's a 10-day free trial.

soulrebel
11-24-2005, 10:00
just a suggestion on the running--here's a couple basics