PDA

View Full Version : Gps

Boo-Yah
08-01-2015, 10:32
New to hiking and camping, wondered what thoughts were on GPS system for hiking and camping, I notice a lot of coordinates posted on sites about good campsites, etc. How important are they, and how little could I pay for an effective one?

Boo-Yah
08-01-2015, 10:43
New to hiking and camping, wondered what thoughts were on GPS system for hiking and camping, I notice a lot of coordinates posted on sites about good campsites, etc. How important are they, and how little could I pay for an effective one?

Also is there way to use phone as GPS app
out of service area?

Another Kevin
08-01-2015, 13:57
Also is there way to use phone as GPS app out of service area?

I have no experience with iPhone's, so don't know about them. For Android, I find that BackCountry Navigator works well in 'airplane mode' when you have no service. You have to download the basemap in advance, of course, but it makes that reasonably painless. It also takes longer to acquire GPS signal.

GPS is a battery hog. I find that if I run it all day (which I often do, since I record tracks for mapmaking) I need to recharge the phone daily. Since mapmaking is one of the things that I'm Out There to do, one of my luxury items is a 14000 mAh ruggedized battery pack to recharge the phone. That has certainly kept it charged through five-day sections in the past.