PDA

View Full Version : DIY HAMZ Starlyte Alcohol Stove

fotofisher
08-03-2015, 10:24
First off, mucho magna cudos to Zelph for the incredible alcohol stove designs at Zelph Stoves. Those designs were inspiration for the stove I now use regularly in the high country.

I live at 4,800 feet and regularly hike to 12,000 or higher here in the Colorado Rocky Mountains. Now, I am not a scientist, but alcohol stoves DO perform less efficiently at higher altitudes, burning more fuel to boil water compared to lower altitudes, even though the water boil temp is less, around 192F at 11,000 feet. (the reduced oxygen levels has something to do with it!)

So, I've tinkered with dozens of alcohol stove designs and permutations to minimize fuel consumption and minimize the 2-cup water boil time. I have long been a fan of pressurized alcohol stoves, but have found the wicking types, like the Zelph Starlyte alcohol stove, work well and are far more easy to construct, using less parts, etc.

So, after 2 years of tinkering, I decided to make a YouTube video of my design, the HAMZ Starlyte, optimized for higher altitude performance. I’d like to think I am the originator of this design, but I’m sure there are some other really smart tinkerers out there that have blazed this trail before me – I just haven’t found the info on their designs yet.

Hope y’all find the video useful. If you build one, your observations and feedback are quite welcomed.

High-Altitude Modified Zelph Starlyte alcohol stove -
The HAMZ Starlyte alcohol stove: https://youtu.be/wTbAVPdwzqQ

.fotofisher.

Odd Man Out
08-03-2015, 13:07
I might suggest an improvement on your calculations.

This is derived assuming we define efficiency as the amount of heat delivered to the pot per amount of fuel burned.

However, it is more convenient to calculate the efficiency by dividing the rate of heat delivered by the rate of fuel consumption. This gives you the same answer.